top of page

PROJECT: BLACK COLOR

For those who do not know, I am currently in the first year of the course Fashion Communication and Promotion at NTU. My first task was related to the black colour and I had to do two Mood Boards, one photo shoot and one small video.

I really enjoyed this project. For the Mood Boards I searched nonstop for images on Tumblr, Twitter and Instagram and I also went to the Library where I took photos of some old magazines.

While doing this i discovered so many things about this colour. In ChIna it is associated with water, north, winter and it is a traditional colour for boys. In Aztec culture, it also represents war because black obsidian glass was used as the cutting edge of battle swords. Lastly, in areas like Portugal, Spain and Italy widows will wear black for the rest of their lives.

It is a powerful, sophisticated, mysterious and seductive color but it also can be considered depressing, conservative and boring. It is known that I am always wearing black but it is not because it's "easy". I actually like to combine this colour with others like yellow, red or with crazy patterns.

For the Mood Boards I decided to do something different. Instead of making a positive board and a negative board I made a B&W and a B&C (as in black and colors). The truth is, black is such a magical color that although it has a "dark" side I can't see it as negative. I tried to do with the B&W board a more intensiva approach of this colour. More powerful, more nostalgic and classic. And with the B&C I wanted to show that black can be fresh, with life and not boring at all. I think I managed it pretty good.

And after all this, black is still my favorite color.

Bellow are the photos of the process:

As I said, I also had to do a photo shoot related to my colour. I have always adored photography but the truth is that I still have a lot to learn. I am now trying to work with analogic and at first I thought of doing this project with it but I didn't had the time so, next time I guess. This weekend my sister, Matilde, came to visit me so I decided to do something with her. My sister has this cute and innocent face so I wanted to do something really pure and I am very happy with the results. We went to the Arboretum Park and I did some close-ups with her and a flower. Like I said I wanted to do something related to innocence and purity so I think that something from nature transmits it well. My inspiration is her, it's her that keeps me going. I also took some photos of a friend of mine, Diogo, and this ones are seductive and darker. What I tried to do was a contrast, boy and girl, pure and seductive, day light and night. I took these near my house.

Bellow are the photos:

Models: Matilde Lopez dos Santos

Diogo Oliveira

Photos taken by: Carlota Lopez dos Santos

Don't Forget to take a look at my Tumblr. I update it daily. http://carlota-b-lopez.tumblr.com

(C.L)

bottom of page